Bonneville Salt Flats Rods, Racing & People

Salt Flats through the eyes of an iPhone

My buddy and new Salt Fever victim, Rickrod, took some pics with his iPhone at World Finals 2010 last October.  He just sent them over.  I thought I’d share them here on the blog.  Rickrod is coming out for Speedweek 2011 with me as well.  I think I may have hooked another one!  Salt Fever is contagious, that’s for sure.

Rick was using some kind of vintage photo app or something to make the photos look old fashion.  This is the SCTA trailer.  Except for the web address at the bottom, you could mistake this for a photo from the 60’s or something.

Here’s that good lookin’ red deuce roadster street rod.  Hey, it has a “Hallock windscreen”.  I just learned the name of these wicked cool designs today actually from my buddy Nick (ex Galaxie Mild Custom owner).  I just became Facebook friends with Steve Sellers of “Sellers Equipped”.  He hand makes these windscreens.  I will have one on my roadster some day!

Rick and I both took a similar photo.  I can’t even remember what car this was on, but the hood ornament was really cool.

Well, here’s your first glimpse of my personal car at Bonneville.  This is my 2002 Subaru WRX I call “Subyrod”.  It’s my Fordor turbo flat 4 cylindner hot rod. 

Nice shots Rick!  I look forward to getting more of your photos on the blog from Speedweek!

One response

  1. Benoit

    Hello,

    The blue car on trailer (#691)in your 2010 speedweek gallery is a Ford Capri, , I believe the first generation. They were popular in Europe.
    The Suzuki powered coupe (#4991) is a project started in England that was purchased by a french team (lestriplettesdebonneville.com) They raced it a couple years. Last year they had also a air powered streamliner that should be back in 2012 with a air powered bike. They are not rocket type engines but piston engines). This year they are racing a Renault 4 wagon also called a Renault 4L. It’s the 50th anniversary for this car also very popular in Europe.
    Next year, 2012, I am making the trip for the first time to Bonneville! Can’t wait anymore.
    Thanks for all the pictures!
    Benoit

    August 14, 2011 at 4:48 pm

Leave a Reply

